Skip to content ↓

Learn and Grow Together in Christ


Local Governing Body

The Catholic Academies in Romero Catholic Academy Trust are under the Romero Trust of the Diocese of Salford. They are founded by and are part of the Catholic Church and seek at all times to be a witness to Jesus Christ.

As the Local Governing Body of a Catholic school within the Romero Trust, the overarching responsibility lies in ensuring that the school is conducted in accordance with its Catholic character at all times, and this overriding duty permeates the work of the Local Governing Body.

The Local Governing Body of a Catholic school within the Romero Trust should ensure that the curriculum of the school, is taught in the light of the Gospel values and actively promotes the spiritual and moral development of the pupils.

Foundation Governors have special responsibility for the religious education curriculum and have a duty to ensure that it is taught in accordance with the Curriculum Directory and the Bishop’s policy.


The three core functions of the Local Governing Body are:

1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction in line with the Romero Trust Vision and Values;

2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the School and its pupils, and for the internal organisation, management and control of the School, including performance management of staff; and

3. In line with the Romero Trust Scheme of Delegation, the overseeing of the financial performance of the School and making sure its money is well spent.



The Local Governing Board shall consist of ten members of which there shall be:

• One staff

• Two elected parents

• Five Foundation

• Headteacher

• Parish Priest


The term of office of local governors is four years.

Name Appointed by From To Business or Pecuniary Interests
Ian Jones  Foundation/Trust (Headteacher) 01.12.23 30.11.27 Governor at Cherry Fold Primary.  Wife is employed at school
Tina Bradley (Chair) Foundation/ Trust 13.02.24 12.02.28  
Daniel Frazer Foundation/ Trust 01.12.23 30.11.27  
Lynne Oliver Foundation/ Trust 01.12.23 30.11.27  
Rosie Baldwin Foundation/ Trust 01.12.23 30.11.27 Child in Year 6. Husband employed at school
Sarah Webster Foundation/ Trust 13.02.24 12.02.28 Governor at Christ the King RC Primary 
Fr David Featherstone Ex-officio Foundation Governor 01.12.23 30.11.27  
Amanda Barrett Staff  13.11.21 12.11.25  
Rachael Whittaker Parents 01.12.23 30.11.27 Children in Reception, Year 5 and Year 6
Amanda Mclaren Parents 01.12.23 30.11.27 Child in Year 1

Headteacher: Mr Ian Jones (

Chair of Governors: Mrs Tina Bradley (

Trust Governance Professional: Ms Helen Whitaker (